Resize Text

+A A -A

Change Colors

You are here

The disability Intergroup elects its new bureau

The Disability Intergroup of the European Parliament held this morning its first meeting after its re-establishment. During the meeting, the whole Bureau of the Disability Intergroup was elected, and now it consists of 4 co-presidents and 8 vice-presidents. This new structure will allow a broad consensus through which the Disability Intergroup can effectively promote the rights of persons with disabilities inside the European Parliament and in Europe.

The European Disability Forum will continue holding the secretariat of the Disability Intergroup and working in close cooperation with it.

The new composition of the EP's Disability Intergroup Bureau


  • Ádám Kósa (EPP, Hungary)
  • Richard Howitt (S&D, UK)
  • Helga Stevens (ECR, Belgium)
  • Pablo Echenique-Robba (GUE/NGL, Spain)


  • EPP: Rosa Estaràs-Ferragut (Spain) and Marek Plura (Poland)
  • S&D: Olga Sehnavolá (Czech Republic) and Brando Benifei (Italy)
  • ECR: Jana Žitnanská (Slovakia)
  • ALDE: Marian Harkin (Ireland)
  • GUE/NGL: Kostadinka Kuneva (Greece)
  • Greens/EFA: Indrek Tarand (Estonia)
Key priorities for the next period
  • In 2015, the United Nations' Committee on the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities will examine the progress that the EU has made since its ratification. It is the first time that any human rights body examines and makes recommendations to a regional organisation. The Disability intergroup will try to actively contribute to all stages of the dialogue between the UN CRPD Committee and the EU including through report and plenary debate.
  • The review of the European Disability Strategy and the Europe 2020, as well as on the adoption of the European Accessibility Act and of the general anit-discrimination directive.

Related news