Resize Text

+A A -A

Change Colors

Vous êtes ici

Warsaw wins 2020 Access City Award

The European Commission together with the European Disability Forum have jointly organised the  Access City Award since 2010, within the framework of the EU Disability Strategy 2010-2020. This award was launched in order to raise awareness for persons with disabilities and is given to the cities with more than 50,000 inhabitants that promote accessibility initiatives with concrete plans for further improvements.

The European Commission received 47 applications for the 2020 edition and Warsaw was pronounced the winner for 2020 for involving people with disabilities and accessibility needs in its attempt to make the city more accessible in a demonstrable short period of time. The second and third places went to the city of Castellóde la Plana in Spain and the city of Skellefteå in Sweden respectively.

Other cities that received a special mention for their contribution to accessibility for persons with disabilities and society overall were: Chania in Greece for its use of technology to provide accessible parking, Tartu in Estonia for its grassroots approach to accessibility and Evreux in France for its work on hidden disabilities.

For more detailed information and sources, you can access this link.